c.1909 W.W. Putnam Organ Co. Walnut Writing Desk

ImageImage

This was one of my first antique pump organ transformations made from this c.1909 W.W. Putnam Organ Company (Staunton, VA).  It was a beautiful solid walnut piece with a wonderful carved hutch top that sat on top of the base desk. I used an antique dropside walnut table to make the desktop and was able to find a way to retain the original keyboard keys, organ pull stops and the foot pedals into the overall design of this fully functional writing desk. The customer was very pleased with the final product that looked great in her home alongside her other antique pieces of furniture.  She told me that she remembered watching her grandmother play on a pump organ when she was a small child and it brought back good memories.

3 thoughts on “c.1909 W.W. Putnam Organ Co. Walnut Writing Desk

  1. Beautiful…have a similar organ that I would love an estimate on re: transforming into desk…am in richmond va….can I send you a pic of organ? Thx!!!

    • Linda,
      Thanks for our inquiry but I recently took a new job in the Dallas, TX area and I’m not currently doing any re-purpose/restoration work for the time being. Perhaps there is someone else there in the Richmond area that can assist you. I would be happy to share my experiences with someone your chose to do this re-purposing work for you. All the best….//Jack Vance, vance.jack@gmail.com//

Leave a comment